Michele Sherin Piazza

Writing like teeth…

Posted in artwork, writing by Michele Piazza on July 9, 2008

Bob Schnieder / Changing Your Mind

I don’t know why its so hard. The living creatively part is what’s easy: make something new every day. Done and done. But this business of actually creating something worth showing, worth reading out loud, that part I keep putting off like a root canal. (continued below)

pictures of birds pictures of birds

Tomorrow is Thursday. Workshop day. I’ve had a month off to rest, to work on writing a new scene (at the very least, a new page) at a leisurely pace. With the time and attention I usually moan about wishing I had. But the most I’ve squeezed out is a clever sentence or two. Totally random. Totally not having anything to do with anything. And, probably, whatever scrap of paper I wrote them down on, I wouldn’t be able to find now.

What I have isn’t writer’s block. It’s a case of the waiting-for-night-before-term-paper-is-due adrenalin rush. That bad habit picked up in college I never could drop. My workshop instructor is probably right: if it weren’t for these weekly meetings, I’d maybe never write anything. Ever.

But why is that?? If writing is something I love, what’s with the need to trick myself into it by creating faux deadlines? Anymore, it’s the only reason I still take the workshop: for the deadlines. I might as well be paying someone to put a gun to my head. In fact, that might help….

Anyone else? Or I am alone in my freakdom here?

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Writing like teeth… said, on July 9, 2008 at 11:26 pm

    […] Go to the author’s original blog: Writing like teeth… […]

  2. kappastar said, on July 10, 2008 at 4:46 am

    Actually, I meant the “tell me about it, sister” comment to this entry. I can’t even comment correctly!

  3. Michele said, on July 14, 2008 at 5:40 pm

    @kappastar – you know I’ll forever hold it against you…


Leave a Reply

