Michele Sherin Piazza

gourmet

Posted in Uncategorized by Michele Piazza on February 5, 2008

If I had my own cooking show, it would go something like this:

The trick to reheating Chinese is the rice. For years, I refused taking home left over rice to avoid that dried out fiber brick it turned into after time in the fridge. Now I know, the trick to reviving dead rice is you add water.

First: dump the block in a bowl; break it up with a fork; drizzle water on top and mix well. Microwave until warm. (The exact time will very depending on how nuclear your particular at-home reactor radiates. Mine is about one minute on high.)

Next: add the main course. Be sure to cover it with something like wax paper or nuclear-resistant cling film – it keeps the moisture in and your microwave clean. Microwave until warm. Mix it around. Microwave again until hot.

Now let it cool while you check your email and wash your face. Notice the toothpaste splatters on your bathroom mirror and get out the Windex, a rag. Notice the laundry you did over the weekend never got folded. Stop to fold it. Forget the Chinese.

After 45 minutes, an hour, maybe you remember the Chinese. Take a bite. Stick it back in the reactor for one minute to reheat – but hit ten minutes instead. Walk away. Call your mom.

Throw the leftover, dried-out and glowing Chinese in the trash.

Tagged with: , ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Sue said, on June 21, 2008 at 10:41 pm

    I found your blog on myspace originally, and see you have more here. I would certianly be a fan of your cooking show! I laughed out loud reading that entry! You have a fabulously entertaining blog on both myspace and wordpress!
    Sue

  2. Michele said, on July 9, 2008 at 1:58 am

    Thanks so much, Sue!

    With myspace, I found I wasn’t making updates as often as I should simply because my profile was so hard to edit. Add to that the new navigation platform that screwed up all my coding… So I’m trying to move the focus over to this wordpress blog – Thanks for being the first to post a comment! Stay tuned to see how this goes…


Leave a Reply

